Rock-a-Fella Ready to Defend Crown in King of the Tents Calypso Competition Thursday


Basseterre, St. Kitts, Monday 17th December, 2012, ( – They are described as the “spirit” of the calypso tents and the carnival generally; but now the top calypsonians who produce some of the funniest, satirical, and witty calypso compositions, are preparing to do battle in their third annual competition, to determine who is the true king of the calypso tents.

Defending monarch, King Rock-a-fella however has issued a warning to all other competitors, including De Unexpected, that it will not be an easy task to defeat him in this year’s King of the Tents Calypso Competition, which will be held this Thursday 20th December, at 17 Degrees, from 9:00pm.

Rock-a-fella said that he is more than prepared and is urging his fans throughout St. Kitts and Nevis, to mobilize their support, by either voting for him online (at or via the texting platform to be made available.

Similarly, fans of the other calypsonians would have the opportunity to cast their votes as well. Again, no formal judges will be used for the contest; it is the public that will be given the responsibility to vote and determine the winners. Two avenues will be provided; the online poll on, which opens on Monday 17th December, and the text to vote platform that opens on Wednesday 19th December, the day before the actual contest.

Organizers have announced that the full slate of calypsonians competing this year are Rock-a-fella, Aba Lively, Un Expected, Honesty, Lord Matt, Little Willy, Lala and Persuader.

To support each calypsonian and to help decide who should be crowned king, text:

• ROC to 9696 (King Rock-a-fella)
• UNX to 9696 (De Unexpected)
• Aba to 9696 (Aba Lively)
• Hon to 9696 (Mighty Honesty)
• Lil to 9696 (Little Willy)
• Lal to 9696 (Lala)
• Per to 9696 (Persuader)
• Mat to 9696 (Lord Matt)

Guest artiste will include Mighty Takeover, Pungwa, Alamoulu, Forest, BraBread, Lord Black, Trashrow and Godfrey. When the competition was first held in 2010, it was won by De Unexpected while Rock-a-fella secured the title in 2011.

You might also like