Sandy Points triumph in T10 final

Basseterre, St. Kitts, September 9, 2019 (St. Kitts Cricket Association): Sandy Point are the inaugural Auckland Maley Hector T10 Champions following a convincing victory over Molineaux/Cayon in the Final at the Conaree Cricket Center.

The game that was originally scheduled for Saturday had to be rescheduled to Sunday after rain on Saturday forced the postponement.

Asked to bat first Molineaux/Cayon found it difficult to navigate the initial conditions and lost their way early losing Jacques Taylor and also losing Jaeel Clarke shortly after to be behind the eight ball very early.

The team’s innings found it difficult to find a balance between scoring and not losing and they eventually struggled to a paltry 50 for 7 off their 10 overs despite late efforts from Jerome Thomas and Xavier Saunders.

In response Sandy Point proved that the conditions were suitable for batting as the openers Akeem Saunders and captain Dillin Liddie outclassed the Molineaux/Cayon bowlers as they needed no helps from their teammates to ensure they recorded the easy victory winning by 10 wickets and in just seven overs.

President of the St. Kitts Cricket Association Dennis Phillip said that they have a bigger Auckland Maley Hector T10 to look forward in the future.

This is the second annual tournament we have created and we will continue to add more tournaments with youth and at least one more senior tournament. By next year we are hoping to having accomplish five tournaments per anum.

Jaeel Clarke captain of the Molineaux/Cayon said that his side failed to assess and adapt to the conditions with the bat.

It did not go our way but good game in all hopefully next year we could come good again.

Sandy Point captain Liddie was already looking forward for the next competition but after his team had a party at the Players bar in the Conaree Cricket Centre.

Liddie was then presented with the Auckland Maley Hector T10 trophy by the wife of the late Auckland O’ Maley Hector Yvette Pasty Hector.

President Phillip also announced that the Keeth Arthurton T20 will bowl off on 5th October.

You might also like