Spin Bowler Vanessa Watts newcomer in West Indies Women’s Squad

St John’s, Antigua (Cricket)  — The West Indies selectors on Tuesday announced the 15-member West Indies Women’s squad for the upcoming eight-match series in New Zealand.

The team will again be led by inspirational captain Merissa Aguilleira, who has been at the helm since 2008. There is one newcomer, Vanessa Watts, an accurate right-arm slow bowler and steady lower-order batter from Jamaica.

The 26-year-old Watts was one of the leading slow bowlers during last year’s WICB Women’s Tournament when she helped Jamaica win both the 50-over and T20 titles. She took eight wickets in the 50-overs competition, including best figures of 4-12 against Dominica. She also had six wickets in the T20 tournament including 2-17 in the final against Barbados.

“We want to welcome Vanessa to the squad for the upcoming series and we know she will fit in very well. She is one of the players who has been knocking at the door for a while now and she has earned her opportunity,” said Sherwin Campbell, the Head Coach.

“She is a hardworking cricketer and has a very good work ethic. We have a core of really good players and a very cohesive unit going to New Zealand and I know she will fit into the group and make her contribution when she gets the opportunity.”

The squad includes most of the players who featured in the West Indies Women’s victory in the Tri-Series Tri-Nation last October – including Stafanie Taylor, the two-time ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year; and Anisa Mohammed – one of the most successful wicket-takers in women’s cricket history.

The West Indies women’s team, the World Cup runners-up, will arrive in New Zealand on Monday, February 10 and will have a one-week camp as they prepare to face the White Ferns in three One-Day Internationals and five T20 Internationals.

The ODIs will be played at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln. The first three T20s will be at Queens Park, Invercargill, with the last two T20s at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.


Merissa Aguilleira (captain/wicket-keeper)

Shemaine Campbelle

Shanel Daley

Chinelle Henry

Stacy-ann King

Kycia Knight (wicket-keeper)

Kyshona Knight

Natasha Mclean

Anisa Mohammed

Subrina Munroe

Shaquana Quintyne

Shakera Selman

Tremayne Smartt

Stafanie Taylor

Vanessa Watts



February, 2014

Tuesday 11th to Tuesday 18th: Training camp at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

Saturday 22nd: 1st ODI at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

Monday 24th: 2nd ODI at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

Wednesday 26th: 3rd ODI at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln

March, 2014

Saturday 1st: 1st Twenty20 at Queens Park, Invercargill

Sunday 2nd: 2nd Twenty20 at Queens Park, Invercargill

Wednesday 5th: 3rd Twenty20 at Queens Park, Invercargill

Saturday 8th: 4th Twenty20 at Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui

Sunday 9th: 5th Twenty20 at Bay Oval, Mt Maunganui

You might also like