St. Christopher National Trust’s Annual General Meeting

TapleySeatonABasseterre, St. Kitts–The St. Christopher National Trust held its 4th Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 29th October, 2013 at its office at the Old Treasury Building, Basseterre.

In his President’s Report, Mr. Tapley Seaton QC, reflected on the Trust’s past year’s activities including its advocacy in matters of preservation and the environment and the commencement of rehabilitation of the Spooners Ginnery.

The Treasurer’s Report, Auditors’ Report and Financial Statements were presented and approved by the membership.

Mr. Cosbert Manchester was introduced as the new Executive Director and appreciation was expressed for the service of the outgoing members of the Board of Directors: Kenneth Martin, Leonard Stapleton and Johan Kelly.

The new Board comprises of:

President                              Schneidman Warner
Vice President                    Tapley Seaton
Secretary                              Ryllis Percival
Treasurer                              Kathleen Orchard
General Members:            Stanley Franks, Austin Gumbs and Daisy Mottram.

The other six members of the Board will be representatives from the Ministries of Culture, Education, Sustainable Development and Tourism as well as the St. Kitts-Nevis Chamber of Industry and Commerce and the Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park Society.

The members in attendance engaged in lively discussion throughout the evening and were treated to a slide presentation of the work being done at the Spooners Ginnery.

The St. Christopher National Trust is mandated by its charter to protect and preserve the historical and cultural assets of the island of St. Christopher.

You might also like