St Kitts and Nevis business sector supports CARICOM 10K Race

(CARICOM Secretariat, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, Guyana) – Several business entities in St Kitts and Nevis have thrown their weight of support behind the Sixth staging of the Annual CARICOM Road Race set for Sunday, July 3 in that same twin island. The annual 10K Run which has attracted local sponsors such BEAUMONT PARK Ltd., St. Kitts, Nevis and Anguilla National Bank, S L Horsford and Company Ltd, SAGICOR, Bank of Nova Scotia and LIME, was introduced to mark the anniversary of the Signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, now in its 38th year; and will bring the curtains down on the 32nd Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community.

File Footage CARICOM 10K Race

In showing appreciation for the sponsors, Mr John Campbell, CARICOM Secretariat’s Deputy Programme Manager for Sports Development said, “the tremendous importance of corporate involvement in the promotion of sport and wellness as they relate to the development of societies must be highlighted.

It is they who can provide the support upon which positive developmental milestones can be achieved.” The event is being staged under the theme, Run for life…Exercise your right and assumes heightened significance as it seeks to promote physical activity in light of the Port—of-Spain Declaration in which CARICOM Member States committed to supporting actions and initiatives aimed at addressing the alarming prevalence of Chronic Non-Communicable Diseases in the Region.

According to Mr Campbell, “we continue to use this event as a platform on which to raise further awareness of the need for all citizens of the Community to engage in physical activity on a regular basis as a pathway to the promotion of Healthy Lifestyles.” The Race, which is set to start at 6:00am, begins at Verchilds Village and ends at Church Street, Basseterre. It will attract female and male participants from CARICOM Member States, visiting tourists, and school children from the Host Country.

The 2009 defending champions are Guyana’s Cleveland Ford and Trinidad and Tobago’s Shermin Lasaldo.The CARICOM female and male winners of the Race will be presented with their prizes and trophies during the closing Ceremony of the Conference of Heads of Government on Sunday, July 3, 2011.

You might also like