St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister attends 54th Meeting of the OECS Authority

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil Douglas (photo by Erasmus Williams)

BASSETERRE,ST. KITTS, JANUARY 23RD 2012 (CUOPM) – St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas is leading the Federation’s delegation to the 54th Meeting of the OECS Authority of Heads of Government.

The Meeting, which starts in St. Lucia today, is being chaired by that island’s newly-elected Prime Minister, Dr. The Hon. Kenny Anthony.

Other members of the St. Kitts and Nevis delegation are OECS Commissioner Her Excellency Mrs. Astona Browne; Parliamentary Counsel, Ms. Allison Isaac and Foreign Service Officer, Mr. Justin Hawley.

Heads of Government from Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Kitts and Nevis will discuss the OECS Development Strategy including a draft common tourism policy; the OECS Economic Union Treaty Implementation including Proposal for operationalisation of the OECS Regional Parliamentary Assembly and Economic Affairs Council, OECS Maritime Governance and draft laws to support E-Government.

Financing of the OECS Secretariat and Economic Union, the OECS relationship with the European Union including a development policy, joint EU-Caribbean Partnership Strategy, the Schengen Visa Waiver Agreements for OECS Member States, the VII EU-LAC Summit and proposal for enhanced relations with the OCTs and Ors are also to be discussed.

You might also like