St. Kitts and Nevis puts machinery in place for its OECS Parliamentary Assembly membership

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, APRIL 12TH 2102 (CUOPM) – The Cabinet of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis has begun plans for the inaugural meeting of the OECS Parliamentary Assembly to be held in Antigua and Barbuda in June.

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister, the Right Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas during Wednesday’s Cabinet Meeting requested the Cabinet to identify nominees from the government who will serve in the OECS Parliamentary Assembly.

Minister of Information, Sen. the Hon. Nigel Carty in the Post Cabinet Briefing disclosed that Prime Minister Douglas, who is also Chairman of the Cabinet, recommended a joint meeting to update Members of the Parliamentary Opposition on matters to do with the OECS Parliamentary Assembly and the role of the Opposition in that regard.

The Revised Treaty of Basseterre which came into effect in January 2011 makes provision for the establishment of the five (5) main institutions of the OECS Economic Union. One such institution is the OECS Parliamentary Assembly.

This body is to be comprised of five elected members from the Parliament of each full OECS member state, three members originating from the government side, including the Head of Government, and two such members originating from the opposition, including the Leader of the Opposition.

The Revised Treaty also makes provision for the election of a Speaker who is to satisfy qualifications similar to those for a Speaker of national assemblies or parliaments.

You might also like