St Kitts-Nevis Seeks to Expand Visa Waiver Programme

Basseterre, St. Kitts, August 09, 2019 (SKNIS): St. Kitts and Nevis has visa waiver agreements with more than 150 countries around the world that allow citizens of the respective countries to enjoy hassle-free travel to signatory territories. Visa waivers mean that passport holders do not need a visa to go to a country.

Some of the countries that have signed visa waiver agreements include: Ghana, Indonesia, Republic of Belarus, Russian Federation, Republic of India, Georgia, and San Marino.

On Wednesday’s (August 07, 2019) edition of the radio and television programme Working for You, Senior Foreign Officer in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA), Michael Penny, said that MOFA is “working feverishly to add other countries to the waiver process.”

“Visa waivers make it easier for passport holders of St. Kitts and Nevis to move around freely and who doesn’t want to move freely,” Mr. Penny said.

The senior foreign service officer pointed out however that having a visa does not automatically grant entry into a country. That authority lies with the relevant immigration agency. In most cases, immigration officers at ports of entry play an enormous role in this regard.

Visa waivers are useful, particularly in promoting tourism and facilitating business. The period that a passport holder with a visa can stay in another country varies according to the agreement.

The Government of St. Kitts and Nevis is committed to establishing diplomatic relations with countries so as to enlarge its diplomatic footprint and play a greater role in international affairs.

You might also like