St. Kitts wins Luther ‘Shot-Gun’ Kelly tournament

CricketFilePhotoASports Page — The 2014 edition of the Luther ‘Shot-Gun’ Kelly Cricket tournament was held in St.Maarten between Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th November. This was the fifth year of the competition.

With team Nevis conspicuous by its absence in the over 35’s tournament, the finals was played between St.Kitts and Anguilla.

St.Kitts batted first and amassed 142 for 7 from their 20 overs with Tony Grant top scoring with 57; and Junie Mitchum scoring 55.

The main bowler for Anguilla was John Jeffers with his 3 for 40.

Anguilla disappointed the sizeable crowd with a response of 82 all out.
K. Carty top scored with 29 and Terry Adams scored 20.

For St.Kitts, Jason Saddler bagged 4 for 9 and Tony Grant got 3 for 22.
St.Kitts therefore winning the 2014 championship.

In matches played prior to the finals:

In match one, St.Kitts defeated Anguilla: St.Kitts 142 for 8 and Anguilla 47 all out in response.

In match two, Anguilla defeated St.Maarten: St.Maarten batted first and scored 113 for 7 in 20 overs and Anguilla got to the target, losing 4 wickets in the process.

This then set up the grand finale between St.Kitts and Anguilla.

After the final match on Sunday, the following presentations were made:
Man with the most runs—Junie Mitchum—75
Man with the most wickets—John Jeffers—7 for 73
MVP—Tony Grant-63 runs and 6 wickets for 29 runs

Third place trophy—St.Maarten
Second place trophy—Anguilla
2014 champions—St.Kitts

The sponsors of the tournament were highly commended for their assistance: Farrell’s canvas; Magnum’s Tonic wine; Nagico Insurance; A&A supplies; Princes Julian International Airport and the St.Maarten Cricket Board.

You might also like