St. Kitts Youth Parliamentarians debate draft Federal Youth Policy to mark 10th Anniversary

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, SEPTEMBER 13TH 2010 (CUOPM) – The St. Kitts National Youth Parliament is Tuesday debating the Draft Federal Youth Policy.

Prime Minister Patrice Harris presenting the resolution on the Government Side

The Draft National Youth Policy is an operational framework with a set of realistic guidelines, from which action programmes and services can be developed, to facilitate meaningful involvement of youth in national development efforts and to respond to their various needs, said Co-ordinator and former Youth Parliamentarian, Ms. Jihan Williams, a lawyer who works in the Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs and is also Deputy Clerk in the St. Kitts and Nevis National Assembly.

She said a resolution endorsing the theme and activities for the 28th Independence Anniversary will also be debated.

Ms. Williams disclosed that the session which is being carried live on ZIZ Television also commemorates the tenth anniversary of its official launch of the St. Kitts National Youth Parliament Association (SKNYPA).

The Opposition

Members of the “third fastest relay team in the world” will also be publicly recognised in this sitting as three of them are expected to be present and a message was read from His Excellency, the Governor General, Dr. Sir Cuthbert Sebastian.

SKNYPA was founded by current Director of Youth Mr. Geoffrey Hanley and the late Desmond Ward in 1999.

It was officially launched on September 13, 2001 at Government House. Mr. Ward died suddenly on the same day that SKNYPA was launched.

The debaters and other participants include past and present members of SKNYPA – all under the age of 30.

Speaker, Mr. Kennedy Pemberton and Clerk, Ms. Shauntel Liburd

The Government Benches: Ms. Patrice Harris (Prime Minister), Ms. Leanne Knight (Deputy Prime Minister), Mr. Kazrano Gumbs, Mr. Otis Jeffers, Ms. Desi Brown, Ms. Donalene Roberts, Ms. Shanequa Hazel, Ms. Nezrene Roberts, Ms. Azuree Liburd and Mr. Jabez Harris.

The Opposition Benches: Ms. Isalean Phillip (Leader of the Opposition), Mr. Haniff Charles, Mr. Patrick Walters, Ms. Merv Ann Thompson, Mr. Crios Freeman, Mr. Dennis McCall, Ms. Elsie Harry, Ms. Valishah Lindsay and Mr. JeNise Carty.

The Speaker is Kennedy Pemberton and the Clerk, Shauntel Liburd.

You might also like