The presentation of medals and trophies to the Primary Schools Cricket league

(Sports Page)— A brief but impressive ceremony was held at the main pavilion at the ET Willet Park on Friday 11th July.

The ceremony was jointly coordinated by the Ministries of Sports and Education.

The main reason for the ceremony was the presentation of medals and trophies pertinent to the recently concluded Primary Schools Cricket league, sponsored by TDC and the Primary Schools Football tournament which was concluded sometime previously and which was sponsored by Giant Malt.

The ceremony was ably chaired by Ms Shoya Lawrence of the Youth Department.

Among those addressing the impressive gathering were: Mr. Keith Glasgow, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sports; Ms Zahnela Claxton, Coordinator of the Youth Department, Ms Michelle Sutton, Coordinator of Sports at the Education Department and Manager of the TDC group of companies on Nevis, Mr. Ernie France.

All of the speakers used the opportunity to congratulate the outstanding athletes and schools and urged them to make the best of all the opportunities with which they are provided as they grow and develop.

The following top awards were made:

Most runs—Carlon Tuckett—74–MCPS
Most wickets—Jaheim Liburd—11—MCPS
Best wicket keeper—Ishan Smith—IWPS
Finals—man of the match
Carlon Tuckett—MCPS
Tijari Clarke—CPS
1st place—Charlestown Primary School
2nd place—Combined Schools—Maude Cross; Nevis Academy and Montesorri
Most improved team– Combined Schools—Maude Cross; Nevis Academy and Montesorri

Division A—best defender—Jamari Clarke-IWPS
Division B—best defender—Traves Browne—IWPS
Division A—Best goalie—Keon Sargeant-MCPS
Division B—best goalie—Tevon Dean—Lyn Jeffers
Division A –best striker—Ishan Smithen—IWPS

Division A
1st Ivor Walters Primary
2nd Charlestown Primary
3rd Maude Cross Prep

Division B
1st Ivor Walters Primary
2nd Charlestown Primary
3rd Violet O Jeffers Primary

You might also like