WICB announces Women T20 Tri Series with England and New Zealand

Roland Holder – WICB Cricket Operations Manager

St John’s, Antigua… Wednesday, April 18, 2013… The West Indies Cricket Board today announced a Women Tri Series which will include the home side, England Women and New Zealand Women.

The series which consists of seven Twenty20 Internationals will be played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados in October and will be preceded and followed by two One Day International Series scheduled for Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

Advertisements

Prior to the T20 Tri Series, West Indies Women and New Zealand Women will contest three ODIs at Sabina Park in Jamaica. Following the Tri Series West Indies Women will host three ODIs against England Women at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago.

“This Tri Series is an important component of our continued development programme for Women’s Cricket. It will allow our Windies Women’s to compete in the two most prominent formats of women’s cricket against quality international sides,” WICB Cricket Operations Manager Roland Holder said.

“It is somewhat of a coup that we were able to have such highly ranked sides as New Zealand Women and England Women tour simultaneously and it is a rare opportunity outside of world tournaments for our team which has been rising steadily to test their skills against these two formidable sides,” Holder added.

“This is a very exciting series for us which will conclude our international cricket season in the Caribbean for 2013 and we look forward to creditable and, of course, winning performances from our regional side,” Holder concluded.

Full Schedule

Windies Women v New Zealand Women ODI Series – Sabina Park

Sunday October 6 – First ODI

Tuesday October 8 – Second ODI

Thursday October 10 – Third ODI

T20 Tri Series Windies Women/New Zealand Women/England Women – Kensington Oval

Monday October 14 – West Indies v New Zealand

Wednesday October 16 – New Zealand v England

Friday October 18 – West Indies v England

Sunday October 20 – West Indies v New Zealand

Tuesday October 22 – New Zealand v England

Thursday October 24 – West Indies v England

Saturday October 26 – Final – Top 2 teams from preliminary round

Windies Women v England Women ODI Series – Queen’s Park Oval

Tuesday October 29 – First ODI

Friday November 1 – Second ODI

Sunday Number 3 – Third ODI

You might also like