Windies women progress to T-20 semis

ICCWorldT20Bangladesh2014Logo(Sports Page)— The four semi-finalists for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 have now been confirmed with a day remaining in the group stage matches, which are being played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

Squads that have progressed from the group stage which started on 23 March include defending champion Australia, former winner England, South Africa and the West Indies.

However, the semi-final line-up will only be decided after Tuesday’s match between the West Indies and India, which will start at 1930 (local time). If the West Indies wins the match to finish unbeaten in its group, then it will top Group B and will play South Africa on 4 April, while Australia will face England on 3 April. But if India beats the West Indies, then the West Indies will end second in Group B, which, in turn, means the semi-finals line-up will be Australia versus the West Indies on 3 April and England versus South Africa on 4 April.

Both the semi-finals will be staged ahead of the men’s semi-finals at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, and will start at 1430 (local time).

The semi-finals and final of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 will be covered, produced and distributed by the ICC’s global media rights partner and host broadcaster, Star Sports. For local licensee details, please click here.

The semi-finalists from Group A were only confirmed on Monday after South Africa beat New Zealand by five wickets. This result meant Australia, South Africa and New Zealand finished with three wins each but Australia topped the group with a superior net run-rate (+2.205), South Africa finished second (+1.606) and New Zealand ended up third (+1.275).

You might also like